Making “Fresh Tracks” in 2016

As I made my way out for a run last week, it was a beautiful snowy morning here in Fort Wayne, Indiana.  The snow was coming down in huge flakes and at times it felt like I was running inside one of those snow globes and someone had just picked it up and shook it.  I have to admit that I usually run with my phone and listen to podcasts or music but this morning I had walked out the door and forgot my phone.  At first I was disappointed but as I started my run along the river greenway, it became so peaceful and it soon became one of those runs that you will always remember for years into the future.  Without the distraction of music or noise,  my mind was able to focus on my current situation and consider new goals and a direction for 2016.  As I progressed on my run and the snow started to cover the greenway path, I soon realized I was making fresh tracks on the trail and it made me think of my running journey and the amazing people and places that have come into my life as a result of running.

IMG_0392

As I start out into 2016, I have many goals that I want to meet with my new online coaching website at www.peakperformancerunner.com, to helping out the many local running groups like Fort 4 Fitness and Fort Wayne’s Smallest Winner.  I am only successful today as a runner because others took the time to help me along the way with helpful tips and comments.  It will be my goal in 2016 to provide information and motivation to other runners regardless of where they are starting at.  One of the main components of setting goals and being successful is telling others where you want to go in your running or personal life.  Once you make it public then it goes from something you are only thinking about to something that is real and your commitment level goes up about one thousand percent.  With that in mind,  Here are a few of my running and personal goals for 2016!

  1. Go to the Boston Marathon on April 18th and re-qualify by running a sub 3:25 marathon.
  2.   Train my ass off and go to the Western States 100 in June and run sub 24 hours!
  3. Get into the gym and start a dedicated Crossfit training program on a weekly basis.
  4. Get my online coaching website kicked off and provide training and informational content to other runners.
  5. Sign up for my first obstacle course race(OCR) in 2016!
  6. Purchase my first bike and train for a half ironman.
  7. Build my Event Management company by adding more races to the calendar.
  8. Be the best husband and father to my family who has supported me since day 1!

As we move into 2016, I challenge you to make “fresh tracks”  and attempt new goals in both your running and personal life.  Be bold, and tell others what your plans are and watch as your commitment to those goals goes through the roof.  If you are new to running, I will be posting information soon on my website about a couch to 5K program and a running group this summer geared for those training for the F4F running events this fall.  If you or anyone you know is starting up a run/walking program and need some guidance, visit my website for a coaching plan geared to fit your personal life.

In closing as I was finishing my run on that snowy morning it made me think of this Robert Frost poem for some reason:

Which path will you take in 2016?  Train hard, train smart and I will see you at the start line soon!

 

One thought on “Making “Fresh Tracks” in 2016

Leave a Reply

